cant create a server

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Last Man Standing Coop Forum Index -> General Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alias3r



Joined: 07 Jan 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:58 am    Post subject: cant create a server Reply with quote

No matter what i do, i cannot create a server. I have freed all the ports up, and tried adding the "set net_port etc.." to the target line on the doom 3 shortcut.

I have also freed up doom3ded as well to exception list.. idk what is wrong. nothign seems to work. One of the members on here has already tried to help me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
[CVG]Anton
LMS Fanatic


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 225
Location: Planet Earth

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just some more info on this, as I was helping with trying to get the server running as a dedicated and playable one.

alias3r set is he uses a Laptop connected via wireless to his router.

Port 27666 is open as TCP and UDP on firewall and router.
Port 27650 is open as TCP and UDP on firewall and router.

I can't remember specifically where I read about this but wasn't there something about Doom 3 server via a wireless connection?
_________________
|^^^^^^^^^^^^| ||
|.....Bear TRUCK.....| ||'|";, ___.
|_...._....._____===|=||_|__|..,]
"(@)'(@)"***|(@)(@)**''(@)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
The Master
leet Beta Tester


Joined: 02 Aug 2005
Posts: 817
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 8:35 pm    Post subject: Re: cant create a server Reply with quote

I have also freed up doom3ded as well to exception list.. idk what is wrong. nothign seems to work. One of the members on here has already tried to help me.

Hmm? You mean doom3.exe, right? If you added anything else but doom3.exe to the exception list, that could still be your problem.
_________________
I'll give you the best Signature you have ever seen, right here. Ready for it? It will be amazing! Sure you're ready? Ok, here it goes:

THE LMS MOD IS THE BEST MOD FOR DOOM 3!!

See? Told you it was a great Signature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
alias3r



Joined: 07 Jan 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 10:45 pm    Post subject: Re: cant create a server Reply with quote

[quote="The Master"]I have also freed up doom3ded as well to exception list.. idk what is wrong. nothign seems to work. One of the members on here has already tried to help me.

Hmm? You mean doom3.exe, right? If you added anything else but doom3.exe to the exception list, that could still be your problem.[/quote]

no, doom3ded.

browse through your doom3 folder and it will be in there.

This is what one of your LMS people told me to try. believe me, we've tried every combination possible
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Master
leet Beta Tester


Joined: 02 Aug 2005
Posts: 817
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you running a dedicated server? That exe is there to launch the console to run servers, but if you are launching your server in-game and playing in it, you only need DOOM3.exe allowed.
_________________
I'll give you the best Signature you have ever seen, right here. Ready for it? It will be amazing! Sure you're ready? Ok, here it goes:

THE LMS MOD IS THE BEST MOD FOR DOOM 3!!

See? Told you it was a great Signature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
alias3r



Joined: 07 Jan 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

we tried both dedicated and nondedicated.

this problem goes back to when i had Red Alert 2 i think. I could never create a server. After everyone would load up it would bring everyone back to main screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jessicabaldick



Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have run into the same problem cant make a server. i tried everything.... still nothing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
jessicabaldick



Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i played in dedicated mode in 27666 but never could figure out how to put it in non dedicated lol. only problem im having now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
calimer
Mod Team Member


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 1949

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try creating a server in game now Smile All of the settings that made your dedicated server should stick so that you can make a listen (in game) server. Best of luck, take care.
-calimer
_________________
Want to make your own 3D Games for Free? Free And Easy To Use Game Creation Software!! - Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker
Head Organizer of Last Man Standing Coop
Check out our business page
Sign up for our newsletter!
Come and talk to us on IRC
Visit our Moddb Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
jessicabaldick



Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

um it says connected to local host when i go to create a listen game on it. dedicated works fine i cant get it off local host when i go to create a server on listen it gives me a different ip instead of 192.168.1.1.22[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
calimer
Mod Team Member


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 1949

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What you might want to think about doing is making a copy of whatever .bat file you were using to start your dedicated server. Then go into that copy of the bat file and change doom3ded.exe to doom3.exe Now click on that new .bat file and you should be all set Smile Take care.
-calimer
_________________
Want to make your own 3D Games for Free? Free And Easy To Use Game Creation Software!! - Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker
Head Organizer of Last Man Standing Coop
Check out our business page
Sign up for our newsletter!
Come and talk to us on IRC
Visit our Moddb Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
jessicabaldick



Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="calimer"]What you might want to think about doing is making a copy of whatever .bat file you were using to start your dedicated server. Then go into that copy of the bat file and change doom3ded.exe to doom3.exe Now click on that new .bat file and you should be all set Smile Take care.
-calimer[/quote]

did that it says localhost did i do it right it says whatever the ip is then some wording and authed when i do heartbeat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Last Man Standing Coop Forum Index -> General Talk All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Mod Database Top 100

Doom 3 Coop Mod Last Man Standing Coop .:. Copyright Platinum Arts LLC

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group